RPH MRF Research Day

The RPH MRF Research Day was held on Wednesday 30 September in the Bruce Hunt Lecture Theatre. It replaced what was previously known as the Young Investigators’ Day, which traditionally highlights an interstate or overseas speaker to deliver the Annual Bryant Stokes Oration.

This year’s Research Day was hugely successful with 26 researchers presenting data over the course of the day. The Medical Research Foundation provided financial awards ($750) to the following researchers in four categories:

Senior Clinical Researcher Award: Dr Lai Kin YAW
Early Career Clinical Researcher Award: Dr Andrew TONER
Senior Research Scientist Award: Dr Phillip MELTON
Early Career Research Scientist Award: Mrs Alison CASTLEY

In addition, six awards of $200 were provided to researchers whose presentations were regarded as outstanding and worthy of recognition in the following categories:

Senior Clinical Researcher: Dr Stephen HONEYBUL
Early Career Clinical Researcher: Dr David KELLY
Mr Christian TJIAM
Early Career Research Scientist: Miss Abbie CREAMER
Miss Denise DEMMER

The Annual Bryant Stokes Oration was this year presented by Professor Alex Brown of the South Australian Health and Medical Research Institute. Professor Brown is an Aboriginal doctor and researcher and is highly acclaimed for his indigenous health research in rural and remote communities. His address entitled “Understanding Chronic Disease in Aboriginal Communities: Lessons from the Fringe” was both engaging and inspiring to all who attended.

The success of this year’s RPH MRF Research Day bodes well for the future of the reconfigured ‘New RPH’ and indicates that its status as an institution of research excellence will be maintained.



Back row L-R:  T Ledowski, A Creamer, S Macdonald, A Castley, E Pang, N Hodgen (MRF Executive Officer), L Beilin (MRF Chairman), D Nolan (A/Director of Research RPH), D Demmer, N Bondonno, L Blekkenhorst, L Smart, B Silbert, P DiPrinzio
Front row L-R:  K Ellis, N McCarthy, L K Yaw, A Toner, J Triplett, P Melton, D Kelly, C Tjiam, J Armitage